School Psychology

  • Role of School Psychologists:

    School psychologists are professionals whose training emphasizes preparation in assessment, mental health, child development, learning, and intervention. Their training in psychology and education provides the skills to work with preschoolers, children, adolescents, teachers and families. School psychologists collaborate with teachers, parents, guidance counselors and others about learning, social and emotional/behavioral problems.

    School psychologists use interviews, observations, and testing data to screen for disabilities and giftedness. They use academic, cognitive, emotional development, and adaptive behavior instruments to determine eligibility for specialized educational programming.

    School psychologists work directly with students and/or families to improve coping skills and behavioral functioning. They also provide counseling, behavior management, and social skills training.

     

    School Psychologists:

    Amanda Crick
    Pride Elementary & Madisonville North Hopkins High School
    Email: amanda.crick@hopkins.kyschools.us
    270-825-6030 Ext: 35004

    Lindsey Hansen
    Jesse Stuart Elementary & James Madison Middle School
    Email: lindsey.hansen@hopkins.kyschools.us
    270-825-6033  

    Beth Huff
    Southside Elementary, South Hopkins Middle School & Hopkins County Central High School
    Email: beth.huff@hopkins.kyschools.us
    270-825-6125 Ext: 43041

    Mary Jones
    Browning Springs Middle, Hopkins County Central High & West Hopkins School
    Email: mary.jones@hopkins.kyschools.us
    270-825-6006 Ext: 3147

    Erica Price
    First Steps intakes, Hanson Elementary, Pride Elementary Preschool & West Broadway Elementary
    Email: erica.price@hopkins.kyschools.us
    270-825-6036

    Kelli Ray
    Earlington Elementary & Grapevine Elementary
    Email: kelli.ray@hopkins.kyschools.us
    270-825-6154 Ext: 238

Related Files