Return to Headlines

Advance KY Outstanding District

Thirteen people pose in two rows in board room

The teachers involved in the middle school Access to Algebra program through Advance Kentucky were honored by the Board of Education at the Sept. 19 meeting.

Hopkins County Schools has been named an Outstanding District by Advance Kentucky because of our amazing success for our first year in the Access to Algebra program, with all four middle schools meeting their goals! Our schools increased student achievement and performance on the PSAT 8/9 in reaching the college readiness benchmark. This program seeks to increase the number of students on track to meet college readiness math benchmarks by the time they enter high school.

Teachers honored include Jeremy Gobin, Jolaine McNary and Christie DePriest of Browning Springs; Ryan Carver , Patty Baumgardner, Elizabeth Bailey, Heather Wagoner, Holli Parsons and Michael Powers of James Madison; Kathryn Cartwright, Kilee Beshear, Ginna Gordon and Amanda Thomason of South Hopkins; and Patricia Womack of West Hopkins. Congratulations to all!