Return to Headlines

Tech Staff Honored with Stillwell Award

Hopkins County Schools’ Technology Department staff members were honored with the 2020-2022 Stilwell Award during the Board of Education meeting on Dec. 12.

The Kentucky Department of Education recognized about 2,400 key education technology staff from the state’s K-12 school districts with this award for the dedication and support of education technology during the Covid-19 pandemic. Recipients from HCS include Steven Vaught, Eric Stephens, Christy Hoagland, Melissa Taylor, Courtney Walker, Kimball Sellars, Steve Russell, Connor Garrett, Candace Wilson, and Drew Taylor.

The Bill Stilwell “red suspenders” award, which is the highest honor KDE provides in K-12 ed tech, goes to individuals or organizations that go above and beyond the call of duty. This year’s recipients received a commemorative coin engraved with Stilwell’s red suspenders. Congratulations to all our of Technology Department staff!