District News

Mission Statement

  • The Mission of Hopkins County Schools is to educate, empower and inspire every child to reach their highest potential and be a continual learner.


  • Parents who are experiencing difficulties with their Parent Portal phone app are asked to please uninstall the app and reinstall it. You will be prompted to enter the district name and the state. The next screen will display two choices for Hopkins – select the top one. You will then be prompted to enter your username and password.

    Your old app is currently being directed to a URL that has been changed. Installing the new app will correct that issue.

    Comments (-1)


  • Grapevine Garden Growers was honored by the Board of Education on Sept. 18. The G3 Club started in fall 2016 with a dozen kids and a 4X4 garden box. It has since grown to 50 members, five dedicated volunteer teachers/staff and about 400 square feet of garden space. G3 Students in Grapevine Garden Growers post with teachers and a board member after receiving certificate. students get hands-on learning experiences in starting seeds, saving seeds, using UV lights to grow starter plants, transplanting, weeding, composting, harvesting and using the harvest in various recipes. Each week, the harvest goes home with students or is used as a snack. Last year, G3 accomplished a goal of sending a plant home with every K-5 student. G3 looks forward to growing healthy food and healthy kids for a healthy future!

    Comments (-1)
  • Students who were 2017 Kentucky Governor’s Scholars pose holding certificates The Board of Education honored #TeamHopkins students on Aug. 22 who participated in the 2017 Kentucky Governor’s Scholars Program. Students who were recognized include Rebecca Brooks, Drewanne Herring, Victoria Hight, Addison Lander and McKenzie Rodgers, all of Hopkins County Central High School; and Kourtney Ashby (not pictured), Emily Fischels, Katherine Howerton, Kirsten Moore, Abby Waide (not pictured) and Garrett Woodall, all of Madisonville North Hopkins High School. Congratulations to these outstanding students! 

    Comments (-1)
  • Lady Maroons Softball Team receives Game Changer Award The Madisonville North Hopkins Lady Maroons softball team was presented with a #TeamHopkins Game Changer Award during the Monday, July 17, Board of Education meeting. The Lady Maroons won the 2017 KHSAA Softball State Tournament Championship last month. The coach is Shannon Peyton and assistant coaches are Scott Miller, Tim Davis and Casey Castile. Congratulations to everyone for this awesome accomplishment of winning the school's first softball State Championship!


    Comments (-1)
  • Mary Florence Long Scholarship winners The Mary Florence Long Scholarship was presented for the first time to three graduates from Hopkins County Central High School. The Board of Education honored recipients on June 5. Each student received a $2,000 scholarship. Scholarship recipients are Mya DeHay, Chase French and Abigail Foster. Congratulations to the winners! Mrs. Long, who died in February 2008, specified that part of her estate would be used to provide scholarships for Hopkins County Central High School graduates. Her husband, Raymond Long, was a teacher at St. Charles for about nine years and the family lived in Mortons Gap. We honor and recognize Mrs. Long for making this generous decision that will benefit local students for years to come. Anyone who is considering setting up a similar scholarship fund is welcome to contact district administrators for more information.


    Comments (-1)

Upcoming Events

View Calendar